Image

Yes, I wear makeup when camping. Here’s why …

 

The husband and I are getting ready to go camping this weekend, and as I tend to do before any sort of travel, I made a packing list. I’m a big fan of lists. Lists are great. Lists are gravy. Lists are life.

I love lists.

For the camping trip packing list I included our gear, my clothes, shower supplies, food, etc. … and makeup.

Yes, I wear makeup when camping.

A lot of people cringe at the very notion of wearing makeup while camping. I am familiar with the judge-y, disdainful glares from other women in the shared campsite bathroom when I’m flicking on some mascara. But I just don’t care. They can camp however they want, and I’ll camp however I like. And my way includes makeup.

Here’s why (a list, because I love them):

1) Photos. I like to take photos – everyday, on vacation, just because. I’m shutter-happy. And I don’t want to look back on a photo from our camping trip and wonder who that stranger is who snapped a selfie with my husband. I want to look like myself, and the “myself” I love and recognize wears makeup.

2) Comfort. You may be thinking, “If you want to be comfortable, then WHY are you wearing makeup?” But here’s the thing about comfort: it’s different for everyone, and my level of comfort involves makeup. I feel like myself when I have makeup on; it’s part of my morning routine. Without it, I feel sluggish and sloppy and out of sorts.

What’s more, camping isn’t my forte. I never camped growing up, and I wouldn’t camp at all now if my husband didn’t love it so much. I go for him. So to make the entire experience more enjoyable for myself, I partake in various indulgences that hardcore campers would scoff at for my own personal comfort. Like makeup.

3) Because I like it. The biggest and main reason I wear makeup ever is because I like it. I wear it for me. Not to impress anyone, or attract anyone – but because I enjoy it. I like the art of putting makeup on, and trying new techniques, new eye shadow colors, new styles. I like the way I look with makeup on. I like enhancing my favorite features, covering up my blotchy skin, and piling on globs of eyeliner and mascara just because I can.

For the comments: So do you wear makeup when you camp? Why or why not? Tell us in the comments below!

TOMORROW: My camping makeup routine (because I DO simplify).

 

4 thoughts on “Yes, I wear makeup when camping. Here’s why …

  1. I took my girlfriend on her first backpacking trip: we hiked 20 miles through a vast and remote wilderness, with more uphill than hiking from the bottom of the Grand Canyon to the top. Everything we needed for the three day journey, we carried on our backs. She brought makeup.

Leave a Reply

