Image

Camping Makeup 101

As I stated yesterday – I’m a glamor queen when I camp.

Well, not really a glamor queen … but I do wear makeup when camping. I feel more comfortable with makeup, I like the way I look in vacation photos better, and in general, it just makes me happy.

But that doesn’t mean I bring my full arsenal of cosmetics when I go camping. I mean, I’m not completely ridiculous. Here’s how I’ve simplified my beauty routine for camping – though keep in mind, this is what works best for me, and it’s still a work in progress.

camping makeup11) Foundation. In the last year, I have discovered the joys of BB cream, and this is particularly great when camping, because it combines all the stuff you WANT (moisturizer, SPF, etc.), plus a little tinted coverage to even out your skin tone — all in one nifty tube. I have sensitive skin, so I’m particular about my BB cream, and have been really happy with Tarte Tinted Treatment 12-Hour Primer, which includes an SPF 30 sunblock.

2) Contouring & color. Too Faced’s “The Secret to No Makeup Makeup” is actually one of my favorite go-to items for camping and other low-maintenance makeup days. Sometimes I’ll even skip using the BB cream (though I still slather on a moisturizer with SPF if I do), and just use the concealer and highlighter from this palette to even out my skin. (Blotchy red spots, dark circles, etc.) Then, I use the blush for color on my cheeks, and the bronzer works for a little definition on my eyes.

In lieu of packing this palette, I’ll bring a cream blush that I can blend in with my fingers and a matte bronzer that I can use on my cheeks and my eyes.

3) Finishing Touches. I’m a sucker for eye makeup, and while I can forgo fancy eye shadows when camping (I’ll just swipe a little bronzer over my lid and blend into my crease for some definition), I can’t live without eyeliner and mascara. For camping, I’ll stick with a waterproof pencil that I can work into my lash-line (no fancy winged eye necessary when camping), then finish with a few coats of waterproof mascara. Waterproof is great for camping, because it will stay put regardless of whatever activities you get into, and won’t give you that oh-so-attractive raccoon eye effect.

Waterproof mascara is notoriously wimpy compared to regular mascara, but I’ve been relatively happy with Sephora’s Full Action Waterproof Extreme Effect Mascara.

4) All the rest. I don’t go anywhere without lip balm, and camping is no exception. I also bring a good moisturizing lotion, because I have notoriously dry skin, and of course sunscreen.

5) Hair. This isn’t really part of the makeup routine — but I pretty much let my hair do whatever it wants when I go camping. I do bring a hair dryer, because I always seem to get sick if I let my hair air dry. But I keep the product to a minimum. After washing with shampoo and conditioner, I work a little Moroccan oil into my hair while it’s still damp (it helps condition and prevent tangles), and then blow dry upside down. That’s pretty much it.

A salt spray can also be great for letting your hair’s natural curl take over. I love this look, but tend to steer clear of salt spray unless I’m due to re-color my hair soon after getting home from a camping trip, as it is VERY damaging to colored hair.

For the comments: What are your camping beauty tips?

One thought on “Camping Makeup 101

Leave a Reply

